Welcome to gnpy’s documentation!

gnpy is an open-source, community-developed library for building route planning and optimization tools in real-world mesh optical networks.

gnpy is:

  • a sponsored project of the OOPT/PSE working group of the Telecom Infra Project.

  • fully community-driven, fully open source library

  • driven by a consortium of operators, vendors, and academic researchers

  • intended for rapid development of production-grade route planning tools

  • easily extensible to include custom network elements

  • performant to the scale of real-world mesh optical networks

Documentation

The following pages are meant to describe specific implementation details and modeling assumptions behind gnpy.

Indices and tables

Contributors in alphabetical order

Name

Surname

Affiliation

Contact

Alessio

Ferrari

Politecnico di Torino

alessio.ferrari@polito.it

Anders

Lindgren

Telia Company

Anders.X.Lindgren@teliacompany.com

Andrea

d’Amico

Politecnico di Torino

andrea.damico@polito.it

Brian

Taylor

Facebook

briantaylor@fb.com

David

Boertjes

Ciena

dboertje@ciena.com

Diego

Landa

Facebook

dlanda@fb.com

Esther

Le Rouzic

Orange

esther.lerouzic@orange.com

Gabriele

Galimberti

Cisco

ggalimbe@cisco.com

Gert

Grammel

Juniper Networks

ggrammel@juniper.net

Gilad

Goldfarb

Facebook

giladg@fb.com

James

Powell

Telecom Infra Project

james.powell@telecominfraproject.com

Jan

Kundrát

Telecom Infra Project

jan.kundrat@telecominfraproject.com

Jeanluc

Augé

Orange

jeanluc.auge@orange.com

Jonas

Mårtensson

RISE Research Sweden

jonas.martensson@ri.se

Mattia

Cantono

Politecnico di Torino

mattia.cantono@polito.it

Miguel

Garrich

University Catalunya

miquel.garrich@upct.es

Raj

Nagarajan

Lumentum

raj.nagarajan@lumentum.com

Roberts

Miculens

Lattelecom

roberts.miculens@lattelecom.lv

Shengxiang | Zhu

University of Arizona

szhu@email.arizona.edu

Stefan

Melin

Telia Company

Stefan.Melin@teliacompany.com

Vittorio

Curri

Politecnico di Torino

vittorio.curri@polito.it

Xufeng

Liu

Jabil

xufeng_liu@jabil.com


  • Goal is to build an end-to-end simulation environment which defines the network models of the optical device transfer functions and their parameters. This environment will provide validation of the optical performance requirements for the TIP OLS building blocks.

  • The model may be approximate or complete depending on the network complexity. Each model shall be validated against the proposed network scenario.

  • The environment must be able to process network models from multiple vendors, and also allow users to pick any implementation in an open source framework.

  • The PSE will influence and benefit from the innovation of the DTC, API, and OLS working groups.

  • The PSE represents a step along the journey towards multi-layer optimization.